Portuguese Afonso Antunes and American Caitlyn Simmers champions of Rip Curl GromSearch

The Best Under-16 Surfers on the Planet Surfed at the ‘National Stadium’ today
Malakai Martínez is the new Guanacaste Surfing Champion

Spanish below by Carlos Enrique Brenes – www.FedeSurfCR.com

Playa Hermosa did not want to finish off the best Sub 16 in the world today without first showing its best side. Today with waves of up to 6 feet in height, great shape and texture, the Portuguese Afonso Antunes and the American Caitlin Simmers made the final of the Rip Curl GromSearch Costa Rica 2019 World Cup.
The first of the two to take the championship was the promise of world surfing, Caitlyn, who, at only 13 years old, is the two-time champion of this event, in which she can still participate for three more seasons.
Today Simmers beat the best Costa Rican representation at this event, Valeria Ojeda from Jaco Beach, who combined 9.5, compared to 17.00 (8.17 + 8.83) from the champion defending her title.

“I want to thank all those who make this event possible that I love and Costa Rica, its people and its waves for being so special,” said the American.
A heat later was Afonso’s turn versus the other American Taro Watanabe, a clear favorite to win the title that ended up being for the Portuguese who from the semifinal took his innovative game, and that ended up giving the trophy to the best surfer.
His combination in the final came at 14.03 (7.33 + 6.60) versus 10.83 for the American who limited himself to running two waves in the final (of 12 possible).
“I worked very hard for this moment, really. Winning this event is one of the dreams of any boy of my age and do it in waves like this country, I think even more special,” said the Portuguese.
In addition, as unofficial data, Costa Rica left the first place of the Tag Team that was held in the afternoon at Playa Hermosa.
In this way it ended the 20th edition of a Championship that started in 1999 in Bells Beach, Melbourne, Australia.
In 2005, its first world final took place and to date, 15 champions of the series have been crowned by category, in which two titles of Brisa Hennessy and one of Leilani McGonagle are included.

  1. Afonso Antunes (POR)
  2. Taro Watanabe (USA)
  3. Sam Reidy (CRI)
  4. Adur Amatrian (ESP)

    Caitlin Simmers (USA)
    Valeria Ojeda (CRI)
    Juliette Lacome (FRA)
    Melania Suarez (ESP)
    Costa Rica

Portugués Afonso Antunes y estadounidense Caitlyn Simmers campeones del Rip Curl GromSearch

Playa Hermosa no quiso despedir a los mejores Sub 16 del mundo en la actualidad sin antes mostrar su mejor cara. Hoy con olas de hasta 6 pies de altura, gran forma y textura, el portugués Afonso Antunes y la estadounidense Caitlin Simmers se hicieron de la final Mundial del Rip Curl GromSearch Costa Rica 2019.
El primero de los dos en hacerse del campeonato fue la promesa del surf mundial, Caitlyn, quien, con solo 13 años de edad, es la bicampeona de este evento en el que aún puede participar por tres temporadas más.
Hoy Simmers le ganó el pulso a la mejor representación costarricense en este evento, Valeria Ojeda de Playa Jaco, quien combinó 9.5, frente a los 17.00 (8.17 + 8.83) de la campeona defensora del título.
“Quiero agradecer a todos los que hacen posible este evento que amo y a Costa Rica, su gente y sus olas por ser tan especial”, dijo la estadunidense.
Un heat más adelante fue el turno para Afonso versus el otro estadunidense Taro Watanabe, claro favorito a un título que terminó siendo para el portugués que desde la semifinal sacó su juego innovador que le terminó dando el trofeo al mejor.
Su combinación en la final llegó a los 14.03 (7.33 + 6.60) versus los 10.83 del estadounidense quien se limitó a correr dos olas en la final (de 12 posibles).
“Trabajé muy duro para este momento, de verdad. Ganar este evento es uno de los sueños de cualquier chico de mi edad y hacerlo en olas como las de este país, me parece aún más especial”, dijo el portugués.  
Además, como dato extraoficial, Costa Rica se dejó el primer lugar del Tag Team que se celebró en horas de la tarde en Playa Hermosa.  
De esta manera, cerró la edición número 20 de un Campeonato que inició en 1999 en Bells Beach, Melbourne, Australia.
En 2005, se concretó su primera final mundial y hasta la fecha, se han coronado 15 campeones de las series por categoría, en las que se incluye dos títulos de Brisa Hennessy y uno de Leilani McGonagle.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.